Eating with your brain.

(Eating smart.)  Not smart as in healthy – smart as in economical.  That’s right, this meal is super cheap and it lasts forever.  The best part is that the leftovers just get better with time as the flavor sinks in.  And, it’s the perfect base for sriracha, my favorite hot sauce!

What is this magical recipe?  Red beans & rice & sausage.  Been there, done that.  I know, but this is different and fancy.  The recipe comes from here.  They call it “Jamaican Rice & Peas.”  See, fancy.

Basically, I’m on a tight budget, and I’m going to have to stick to that budget if I’m ever going to pay off that debt, (see sidebar.)  Wait, Jessica, I just saw your weight, you should not be eating all those carbs!  Hey, this is only day one, give me a break.  I’m doing one thing at a time.  The fact that I’m doing something besides playing Sims 3 or eating Dominoes or both is a positive.  See, progress!  Whatever, make with the pictures.  Ok.

Ingredients: That chicken broth down there was substituted for water…

As you can see, this is basically third world food, it’s all really cheap.  (Sausage is probably the most expensive thing and it’s completely optional.)  No, none of this is organic, if I were a better person it would be and maybe when my budget isn’t so tight it will be.

After the beans have been going awhile chop up your onions and garlic and then throw them in a pot with some olive oil.  Stir them around until they look translucent.

Next, drain the beans, (they shouldn’t be super soft, just kind of soft) and dump them in the onions and add the can of coconut milk and 1 1/3 cup of water.  (I forgot to make chicken broth so I had to use regular old water, it still turned out ok, just had to add some salt.)  Cover and cook for 5 minutes.  Then add the rice!  Bring the whole thing to a boil, (if you’re like me you’ll begin wishing you had a bigger pot.)  Once it comes to a boil, turn down the heat and cover until the rice had soaked in all the juices, (about 30 minutes.)

When the rice is about 20 minutes in, brown up the sausage.

When it’s finished it’s the most exciting thing.  If you’re like me, you’ll make a bowl as fast as you can, have a bite, do a little dance and then run to get your camera.  While you’re taking pictures you’ll realize what’s missing.

Yes, I added cilantro to my personal bowl, but it was not time for taking pictures then, it was time for eating.  But, after I ate I took some pictures of the pot.  I love the colors of this dish.  Remember when I said this recipe was fancy, I was right wasn’t I?

At this point you might be asking, (doubt it though), where’s the sriracha?  I forgot it at work because I’m an idiot!  That’s ok, I had it for lunch today with sriracha and it was better than I remembered.

All this food will literally last me a week, (I’ve made it before, I’m not lying.)  This means that I wont be going out to eat at lunch which means that I can stick to my budget and avoid using those deadly credit cards.  Yay!

I can’t believe you made it this far down the page.  If you have the time, leave a comment and let me know how awesome I am or how pretty my pictures are or how bad my handwriting is.  I have better things to do.  Yeah, I don’t blame you.

P.S. Legit recipe with ingredients in list form: here.

10 thoughts on “Eating with your brain.

  1. I made it to the bottom of the post!
    1. You are awesome
    B. Your pictures are pretty
    3. Your handwriting is…legible

    Grood job Jess!
    -Jason T.

  2. I love this! I think it’s a really good idea to post your weight and debt b/c it’s keeping you extra accountable…although in my case I’m pretty sure it would just make me feel more pressured and then I’d just eat a lot, but this is totally going to be great for you! 🙂 But in all seriousness, I’m committing to making that dish this week. Dinner, plus lunch the next day, is a win win.

  3. We read this all out loud and we love you. I want to eat this and I love all of this.
    Daniel and Melissa

  4. I’m excited about your blog! But I wish Al Gore had chosen a more attractive word than “blog” when he invented them.

  5. Pingback: Let’s call it muscle mass | Redefining Jessica

Leave a comment