Let’s call it muscle mass

Here’s the bad news: It’s been a week since I started this blog, so according to the rules I made for myself, last Friday was a weigh in day.  I have officially gained 1.8 pounds.  Shit!

When I told my friend Michelle that I had gained weight she explained that it must be muscle mass because I’ve been working out now.  How many days did you work out last week?  Three.  Oh wow, that’s muscle mass for sure.  I don’t appreciate your sarcasm.

Enough weight talk, let’s move on to food talk!

On Wednesday it was time to make my weekly meal.  (I usually only make 1-2 meals a week and then live on left-overs.)  I had sausage and cilantro left in my fridge from the rice & beans recipe.  I used this website, Gojee, which lets you say what ingredients you have and then it gives you a bunch of recipes from blogs with those ingredients.  I chose a meat and vegetable mash so that way I wouldn’t be all carbed out.  You can find the original recipe here.  It called for chorizo, but I didn’t have chorizo, I had spicy sausage.  It turned out the way you would expect a vegetable meat pile to taste like, nothing fancy but not bad either.  The spicy sausage was that best part.  I love sausage, but maybe the sausage is where the extra pound came from?  Or maybe it was all that cheese from last Thursday night, (velveeta + chilli = happy/fat.)

Meat & Veggies Mash Ingredients:

Cook your chicken.  I was going to bake it but then I just decided to just cook it in a pan with some olive oil and salt & pepper.

Chop up your veggies and cooked chicken.  It’s a lot of stuff, you’ll need your biggest cutting board!

Get a big ol’ skillet and brown your sausage and warm the chicken back up.

Then take the meat out and put your veggies in.  (I’m not sure why, but it’s what the recipe said.)

Once the veggies are cooked but not soft, throw the meat back in and add the cilantro!

That was last week’s food.  My plan is to update this more often but with shorter posts, (the way we Americans like it.)  Oh, and my sister, Janelle, and I have made a pact to do the Jilian DVD for five days this week – Monday through Friday.  According to Jilian, we will lose five pounds if we do.  Next time you see me I should be five pounds lighter!  Huzzah!

8 thoughts on “Let’s call it muscle mass

  1. Very colorful this time! Don’t think I’ve had anything this healthy in a LONG time. (it shows)
    Good luck with Jilian.

  2. Muscle mass it is!! Another beautiful blog post, love the font you are using (though I did not mind your handwriting).

    Great job, Jess.

  3. Hey Jessica, 1st time have I have checked this out…I love it!!! The food looks awesome and healthy!!! Ya know, a lot of times it’s not the food we are eating but the liquids we are consuming that tips that DANG scale!!!

  4. Yum…looks delish. I never thought of a combo of chicken and sausage….gonna make this tomorrow! Keep it up girl…you are helping people, I have shared your blog with friends in North Carolina and DelRay Beach. UR famous!

  5. Proud of you Jessica! Keep up the healthy eating (and it’s okay to cheat once in awhile) and exercising. But…when you weigh in, do this in the A.M., when the stomach & bladder is empty! Also, your clothes are the the best indicator that you’re body is becoming fit & healthy, give yourself some time, you’ll notice the positive changes! BTW- you’re dinner looks absolutely delish!

Leave a comment